Sanskrit is a repository of unlimited invaluable knowledge of Ancient Indian Heritage. Keeping this in view, the Department of Sanskrit was established in the year 1990. It was started with two faculties; Dr. M V Joshi and Dr. Hansaben N Hindocha. Dr. M V Joshi joined as a reader and Professor. After the retirement of Dr. M V Joshi, Dr. Hansaben served as head of Department. Dr. M K Moliya and Dr. R A Chotalia joined the department respectively in 2000 and 2002. Nowadays third faculty is Dr. R N Kathad. Visiting faculties are also sharing the teaching work.

The Department is engaged in teaching and research pertaining to Sanskrit Language and Literature. It has well-experienced teaching faculty which undertakes research activities in their respective field of research as well as popularizes Sanskrit amongst masses through programme like Simple Sanskrit Speaking Classes sponsored by the University Grants Commission.

In 2000, Department was benefited with its own building with the donation of ShriGopal Krishna Trust, Junagadh. Trust gave the donation of Rs. 5,25,000 and department got a small but nice building. In the XIth plan, UGC sanctioned 50 lac for the building. New building is inaugurated on 1 March 2014. There are sufficient classrooms and a Seminar hall in new building.