The Department of Law was established in 1979 and takes pride in the fact that some of its students have gone on to become chief justice, political leaders, university vice-chancellors and pro vice-chancellors, superintendents of police, district judges, senior as well as junior judges, assistant public prosecutors, law officers, professors and legal experts to reputed private sector companies. The Department offers a two-year (4 Semester) LL.M. Programme with an Intake capacity of 40 seats (out of which 25 are self-financed Seats). The two specializations offered here are Business Laws and Criminal Laws. The Department has been one of the first in the country to implement the new UGC Model Curriculum. Besides LL.M., the Department offers self-finance PG Diplomas in Legal Process outsourcing, Forensic Science, Banking Law and Exim Laws with an intake of 30 students in each of these courses. It is active in research and believes in implementing the latest methodologies in teaching. Presently 16 researchers are pursuing their doctoral work in the Department and 80 have been awarded their Ph.D.s till date. The Department has its own collection of books worth Rs.4,89,238 besides e-juris legal database to access cases, a digital library, a book-bank for the needy students, and internet facility to augment teaching-learning. It has three full-time faculties, besides practicing legal luminaries as visiting faculties. The future thrust-areas of the Department are Sociology of Law and Law & Economics and Environment and Laws.