Department of Commerce & Business Administration

Department of Commerce and Business Administration

The post graduate department of commerce and business administration was set up on the University Campus from the beginning of the academic session 1979-1980. It was inaugurated by Shri Umakant Pandit, the well known industrialist of Saurashtra on August-1979.

Dr.N.M.Khandelwal was former Head of the Department, followed by Dr.H.N.Agrawal. They build up strong foundation of Academic Environment for Commerce Education. At present, Dr. Daksha Pratapsinh Chauhan is working as Head of the Department since 2006.

Department is running M.Com (CBCS), M.Phil (CBCS) Ph.D. Programme. The M.Com. Courses offer four Specialisation (1) Accounting and Taxation (2) Finance (3) Marketing. (4) Statistics

There are four semesters whole time course. Each semester consist five paper including dissertation in final semester. There is 30:70 internal and external ratio for examination.

M.Phil. course include three major papers (1) Research Methodology, (2) Perspectives of Management (3) Banking and Finance, in first semester and in second semester dissertation on respective area of Commerce, all functional area of Management, Banking, Finance, Accounting etc. This is pre- Ph.D. Course having Research Orientation. It is whole-time course.

The Department provides research guidance facilities to the candidate for in Commerce. Total No. 130 Ph.D. Degrees were awarded to the research students with different area of Commerce, Accountancy, Finance, Management, Banking etc. Total Seven faculty members are recognized as research supervisor for Ph.D. programme. Department is organizing various Conferences, Workshops, Seminar on regular basis. Department of Commerce have strong alumni. The students were working in different position in Government, Non-government Organization, Institutions and Corporation.